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PART I:  Statutory & Case Law 
Review:  Minnesota Perspective 

 



Applicable Statues:  What is a 
Crime? (Minn. Stat. § 169A.20) 

 Driving while under the influence of: 

 (1)  alcohol 

 (2)  controlled substances 

 (3)  hazardous substance 

 (4)  combination of (1), (2) &/or (3) 

 (5)  AC of over .08 or .08 within 2 hours of 

driving 



What is a crime?  (cont.) 

 (6) commercial vehicle and AC of .04 or 

more within 2 hours of driving 

 (7)  while schedule I or II controlled 

substance, or its metabolite, (except 

marijuana) is present in body  



What is not a crime - Driving while 
under the influence of: 

Drugs that are not controlled substances 

Comparison to other states:  about 35 

plus DC cover all drugs, only about 15 

limit to controlled substances 

 

 



 All of Minnesota’s border states prohibit 

driving under the influence of ANY drug 

(not limited to controlled substances) 

Wisc So Dakota 

No Dakota 

Iowa 



What is not a crime (cont.) 

 driving while marijuana or a schedule III, 

IV or V drug is present in your body 

 



Comparison to other states: per se 
DWI drugs laws 

• 18 states have some form of 
per se controlled substance 
laws: 

• Arizona 

• Delaware (limited) 

• Georgia 

• Illinois 

• Indiana 

• Iowa (limited) 

• Michigan 

• Minnesota (schedule I & II 
except pot) 

• Nevada (“certain amounts 
of prohibited substances”) 

 

• North Carolina 
(schedule I & all for 
under 21) 

• Ohio (limited) 

• Pennsylvania 

• Rhode Island  

• South Dakota (under 
21) 

• Utah 

• Virginia (limited) 

• Wisconsin (limited) 

• Washington (only 
marijuana – 5.0 ng or 
higher in blood within 
2 hours of driving) 

 



What is a controlled substance? 

 Minn. Stat. § 152.02 – five schedules. 

 Minn. Stat. § 152.02, subd. 7 – Board of 

Pharmacy is authorized to regulate and 

define additional controlled substances. 

 Minn. Rules § 6800.4210 et. seq. 

 Substances scheduled by rule are 

incorporated in the statutory schedules.  
State v. King, 257 N.W.2d 698 (Minn. 1977); State 

v. Verschelde, 595 N.W.2d 192 (Minn. 1999) 



What is a hazardous substance? 

 Minn. Rules § 5206.0400, et seq. 

 

 

 
 Website links for lists of controlled and 

 hazardous substances: 

 Chapter 152: www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/ 

 Minnesota Rules: www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/rules/  

 

http://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/
http://www.revisor.leg.state.mn.us/rules/


Prescription Use Affirmative Defense  

 Under section 169A.46, subd. 2 it is an 
affirmative defense to the per se law if a driver 
used a controlled substance according to the 
terms of a prescription. 

 Burden is on defense to prove by a 
preponderance of the evidence that the 
defendant used the controlled substance 
according to the terms of a prescription. 

 Only a defense to the per se law (169A.20, subd. 
1(7)), not to the under the influence law (169A.20, 
subd. 1(2)). 

 Does not apply in implied consent proceedings. 

 



Effect of a DWI-controlled substance 
arrest or conviction on driver’s license 

 DL revocation upon conviction for DWI- 

controlled substance. 

 Refusal to take blood or urine test will 

result in DL revocation, even after breath 

test is taken. 

 Choice of blood should be offered if 

refuses urine and vice versa. 

 

 



DL impact (cont.) 

 DL revocation if tests positive for 
schedule I or II controlled substance or its 
metabolite, excluding marijuana – only if 
obtained pursuant to implied consent law, 
not pursuant to a search warrant. 

 Officers should send in a “Request for 
Examination of Driver” form to DPS in all 
DRE cases (available on DVS website; 
Public Safety Form PS31924) - may result 
in request for interview, with failure to 
comply resulting in DL suspension 



Birchfield v. North Dakota  
(U.S. Supreme Court June 23, 2016) 

 Breath tests are searches incident to arrest so a 

driver who refuses may be charged with the 

crime of refusal. (Bernard case from Minnesota) 

 Blood tests are not searches incident to arrest so 

a driver who refuses may not be charged with the 

crime of refusal. (Birchfield case from ND) 

 Officers need a search warrant or exception to 

warrant requirement (e.g., consent or exigent 

circumstances) to take a blood sample. (Beylund 

case from ND remanded to determine consent to blood test 

given partial inaccuracy of IC advisory) 

http://www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwi-ocel95bOAhVMdz4KHV45CakQjRwIBw&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.dailytexanonline.com%2Fblogs%2Fthe-update%2F2012%2F06%2F26%2Fsupreme-court-ruling-pleases-and-displeases-both-parties&bvm=bv.128153897,d.cWw&psig=AFQjCNEZAwx5lM7nZmZL2Lakdcvg_X3Hmw&ust=1469821865965723


Birchfield v. North Dakota 

 Birchfield did not rule on: 

– DL revocation consequences pursuant 

to implied consent law, or  

– Refusal cases involving requests for 

urine samples. 

 



Minnesota Supreme Court:  State 
v. Trahan and State v. Thompson 

 Decided October 12, 2016 

 Trahan – State may not prosecute crime 

of refusing to take a blood test, absent 

exception to warrant requirement or 

exigent circumstances. 

 Thompson – State may not prosecute 

crime of refusing to take blood or urine 

test . . .  



Impact of Birchfield, Trahan 
 and Thompson 

 In light of the holdings in Birchfield, 

Trahan and Thompson regarding criminal 

charges for blood & urine test refusals, 

Officers in Minnesota are generally being 

advised to obtain search warrants in DWI 

cases involving drugs other than alcohol. 



Impact of Birchfield, Trahan 
 and Thompson (cont.) 

 Drug related DWI’s: 

 Most jurisdictions are obtaining search 

warrants for a blood sample and not 

reading the implied consent advisory. 

 Some jurisdictions are 1) obtaining 

search warrants, then 2) reading the 

implied consent advisory.  If the driver 

refuses, the SW is not executed and the 

driver is charged with crime of refusal. 



General Law 

 



Miranda 

 A Miranda warning must be given prior to any in 

custody interrogation of a suspect. 

 Miranda need not be read before the implied 

consent advisory since it is not in custody 

interrogation. 

 Miranda must be given prior to DRE evaluation 

as suspect is in custody and is being asked 

questions. 



Scales 

 Must electronically record in custody 

interrogations, information about rights, and any 

waiver of those rights. 

 Scales does not apply to implied consent 

advisory - Umphlett, 533 N.W.2d 636 (IC); 

Gilmartin, 535 N.W.2d 650 (crime). 

 DREs should turn on audio or video recorder as 

soon as Miranda is read and record entire 

evaluation. 



Minnesota Drug Impaired Driving 
Case Law – Published Decisions  

 There are approximately 2 dozen 

published and unpublished Minnesota 

appellate court decisions relevant to drug 

impaired driving case.  

 Most important decision is:  

  State v. Klawitter, 518 N.W.2d 577 (Minn. 

1994) (admissibility of DRE testimony) 



Klawitter case - holdings:  DRE 

 An officer should be allowed to give an 

opinion based on the officer’s training 

and experience and his or her 

observations following the 12-step drug 

recognition protocol, as long as: 



Klawitter DRE holdings (cont.) 

 There is sufficient foundation for the 

opinion expressed, 

 the State does not refer to the officer as a 

“Drug Recognition Expert”, and 

 The evidence is relevant. 



Klawitter case:  holdings - HGN 

 HGN satisfies the Frye standard of 

admissibility: “nystagmus, when it is 

present, may be an element supportive of 

a conclusion of drug impairment based 

on the elements taken as a whole.  And it 

may also support the identification of the 

drug category involved.” 



Why DRE is not Frye per Klawitter 

 Not scientific technique - list of things prudent, 

trained and experienced officer should consider 

before giving opinion whether person is under 

influence of a controlled substance(s). 

 Few of steps require medical or scientific 

training or skill. 

 DRE training refines and enhances skill of acute 

observation and focuses that power of 

observation. 



Nystagmus per Klawitter 

 HGN and VN are not emerging scientific 

techniques. 

 Trial court did not err in concluding that 

the Frye standard was met. 

 Admissible as additional evidence of drug 

impairment and may support ID of a 

specific drug category. 



State v. Hegstrom  

 State v. Hegstrom, 543 N.W.2d 698 (Minn. Ct. App 

1996) 

 State showed substantial evidence that 

defendant was under influence of controlled 

substance wherein after fatal accident caused by 

defendant he appeared: 

 Distracted, drowsy, very spacey, aloof, out of it, 

constricted pupils, talked in low, slow voice, was 

unsure how he rear-ended victim vehicle and 

was inattentive before accident. 

 



Hegstrom case (cont.) 

 Expert testimony not required to establish 

PC that defendant was under influence of 

controlled substance. 

 There’s no defined level of chemical 

concentration at which a person is 

presumed to be under influence of 

controlled substance. 

 



O’Connell v. State 

 O’Connell v. State, 858 N.W.2d 161 (Minn. Ct. App. 2015) 

 U.S. Supreme Court decision in Missouri v. McNeely 

(dissipation of alcohol alone not exigent circumstances) 

does not apply retroactively on collateral review of a final 

conviction (motion to reverse conviction and withdraw 

guilty plea based on McNeely).  

 Defendant was weaving in traffic, under speed limit, dilated 

pupils, slow response to questions, poor SFST’s.  

 DRE evaluation with opinion of CNSS. 

 Urine test result presence of amphetamines. 

 District Court denied motions to suppress urine test and to 

dismiss for no probable cause. 

 

 



Dornbusch v. Commissioner of 
Public Safety 

 Dornbusch v. Commissioner of Public 

Safety, 860 N.W.2d 381 (Minn. Ct. App. 

2015). 

 There is no prescription defense in 

implied consent proceedings. 



State v. Fawcett 

 State v. Fawcett, 884 N.W.2d 380 (Minn. 2016) 

 Facts alleged in search warrant application 

provided probable cause to conclude evidence of 

CVO would be found in Fawcett’s blood. 

 Defendant did not retain privacy interests in her 

blood sample once lawfully seized such that a 

new search warrant was not needed for 

subsequent analysis. 



State v. Carson 

 State v. Carson, 884 N.W.2d 917 (Minn. Ct. App. 

2016) 

 1,1-difluoroethane (DFE) or “dust-off” met the 

definition of hazardous substance so as to 

support Defendant’s DWI conviction. 



Part II:  Charging Decisions & Trial 
Tactics 

 



Case Evaluation - Factors 
affecting a Charging Decision 

 Driving conduct 

 Statements by suspect at scene & 

throughout 

 Physical evidence of drug use 

 Severity of impairment 



Charging Decision (cont.) 

 Whether opinion is corroborated by tox, 

and if not, whether it can be explained. 

 Are there other credible explanations for 

suspect’s behavior? 

 Is behavior at scene consistent with 

behavior during evaluation & if not, can it 

be explained? 



Preparing for Court - Tips to Help 
your Prosecutor 

 Learn about DRE - attend all or part of a 

DRE school 

 Read DRE manuals 

 Attend SFST school 

 Attend ARIDE School 

 Police Ride-a-long 

 Witness certification training 



Preparing the Case - More Tips for 
the Prosecutor 

 Meet with DRE in advance to discuss case 

 Read up on drugs involved 

 Review DRE manual regarding drugs 

involved in your case 

 Discuss testimony with BCA witness - 

learn their limitations regarding testimony  



Trying the Case 

 Prosecutor should ask DRE to: 

– Bring DRE rolling logs 

– Bring HGN log 

– Bring resume 

– Bring DRE manuals 

– DRE kit - including penlight & pupilometer 

– Be prepared to demonstrate divided 
attention tests 



Testimony - Direct 

 Don’t oversell DRE  

– Jury impressed by driving conduct 

– DRE is a very good system of observation 

 Minimize foundation questions 

– jury want to hear bottom line 

 Avoid scientific explanations 

– don’t open door to detailed cross  

– avoid jargon & technical/scientific terms 

– do not sound like a scientist 

 



Testimony - Cross 

 Be consistent with DRE manual 

– Defense will have copies 

– Review before testifying 

 Freely admit “other explanations” 

– give defendant little points, or they become 

big points if witness fights with attorney 

– importance is in big picture - all observations 

taken together, not separately 



Testimony - Cross (cont.) 

 Don’t speculate in scientific questions 

– asking the wrong witness 

 When decide under influence - 

preliminary opinion is acceptable, natural, 

human response 

 Don’t speculate on facts not in evidence - 

don’t have to accept defense hypothetical 



Common Defenses 

 Alternative explanations for behavior 

 Defendant using drugs but not under the 
influence 

 Not under influence at time of driving 

 Defendant was using the drug legitimately 

 Lack of bad driving behavior 

 Alternative explanations for driving 
conduct 



Part III:  Trends, Practice Tips  & 
Observations 

 



Status of DRE cases in 
Minneapolis 

 Almost all cases result in a guilty plea to DWI 

controlled substance or DWI controlled 

substance per se. 

 Very few trials - trials have been cases where 

marijuana was the only drug involved and one 

recent methadone trial. 

 Back-log of DWI drugs cases with warrantless 

tests or refusal charges. 

 Some recent Rasmussen hearings have involved 

Birchfield issues – Was there a search warrant 

and if not, was there consent or exigency? 

 



Practice Tip   

 If Defendant is in an accident and goes to 

the hospital, ask hospital staff to tell you 

if any controlled substances are 

administered before you get a blood or 

urine test!! 

 Some defendants may be                        

given pain killers if injured!! 



Practice Tip  

 There is some confusion about the interpretation of 
the implied consent advisory with arguments being 
made that marijuana is excluded.   

 Please read the implied consent advisory as it 
pertains to controlled substances slowly and clearly, 
emphasizing the second “or” 

 “Minnesota law requires you to take a test to determine: ….if 
you are under the influence of hazardous or controlled 
substances or to determine the presence of a controlled 
substance listed in schedule I or II, other than marijuana or 
tetrahydrocannabinols.” 

 Note:  This issue is disappearing with use of search 
warrants. 

 



Practice Tip   

 Review tox results to see if BCA stopped 

testing after a schedule I or II controlled 

substance was found and request 

additional confirmatory testing if 

warranted. 

 



DL Revocations pre and post Birchfield 

 Check to make sure that suspect’s DL is 

revoked if positive blood or urine test for 

schedule I or II controlled substance 

(except marijuana). 

 There is no DL revocation if suspect’s 

blood or urine tests positive for schedule 

I or II controlled substance (except 

marijuana) when obtained with a search 

warrant – a conviction for DWI is needed 

or compliance with Implied Consent Law. 

 



Areas of Confusion 

 Confusion as to what is a controlled substance – 

zolpidem, lorazepam. 

 There is confusion regarding the applicability of 

the prescription defense – it only applies to the 

per se law, not to the under the influence law. 

 There is also confusion about DWI marijuana – 

can charge if under the influence despite 

exception in per se law. 

 Under the influence count, 169A.20, subd. 1(2) 

vs. per se count, 169A.20, subd. 1(7). 

 

 

 

 



DRE reports  

 Please make sure that your complete 

reports are promptly sent to your 

prosecutor 

 

 



Impact of DWI controlled substance 
per se law on DRE program 

 The per se law is very helpful - Minn. 

Stat.§ 169A.20, subd. 1(7) especially with 

amendment to include metabolites. 

 

 

 

 



DWI per se controlled substance 
law 

 Do such laws cause officers to be 

reluctant to use DREs? 

 Do such laws cause officers to skip 

SFST’s and evidence gathering? 

 Are such laws confusing? 

  Experience with per se alcohol laws: 

 Can not assume breath, blood or urine test 
will be admissible 

 Officers still seek SFST training 

 



Per Se DWI Controlled Substance 
Laws . . .  

 Are another arrow in the quiver          of 

DWI enforcement 

 Icing on the cake for DWI controlled 

substances prosecutions  

 Prosecutors love this law!! 



Drugs that Mpls prosecutors see 
most often: 

 Narcotics, especially heroin (causes 
crashes) 

 Prescription drug abuse 

– Pain Killers 

– Tranquilizers (eg, Xanax, Valium) 

– Antidepressants 

– Methadone 

– Adderall (amphetamine) 

 

 

 



What other drugs are being used?  
(cont.) 

 Methamphetamine 

 PCP in marijuana cigarettes 

 Cocaine and its metabolite 

 Zolpidem (Ambien) 

 Combinations 



Dust-Off 

 Dust-off is being seen more often as being used 

by impaired drivers. 

 Dust-off appears as 1, 1-difluoroetheane in the 

tox sample, but it is not currently specifically 

listed as a hazardous substance in the Minnesota 

Rules. 

 State v. Carson, 884 N.W.2d 917 (Minn. Ct. App. 

2016) held that 1,1-difluoroethane (DFE) or “dust-

off” met the definition of hazardous substance 

so as to support Defendant’s DWI conviction. 

 



Marijuana remains common  

 THC can not be found in urine - only THC 

metabolite is found 

 THC will only be found in blood 

 A level will be reported for blood, but not 

urine 

 Try to get a blood sample if cannabis is 

suspected. 



Marijuana DWI cases 

 Marijuana cases are difficult to prove 

especially if there are no other drugs 

involved and the driving conduct is not 

egregious. 

 

 

 



Useful web-sites with DRE-related 
information: 

 The International Drug Evaluation & Classification Program:  

www.decp.org  

 Minnesota:  www.dwitaskforce.com  

 Minnesota State Patrol:  

https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/msp/about/dre/Pages/default.aspx 

 NHTSA:  www.nhtsa.gov 

 National Traffic Law Center (National District Attorneys 

Association):  www.ndaa.org (under programs, go to traffic law) 

44 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 110 

Alexandria, VA 22314 

703.549.9222 

Fax: 703.836.3195 

 

 

 

http://www.decp.org/
http://www.dwitaskforce.com/
https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/msp/about/dre/Pages/default.aspx
http://www.ndaa.org/


Minnesota Cases relevant to Drug-
Impaired Driving 

 State v. Klawitter, 518 N.W.2d 577 (Minn. 1994) 

 State v. Heibel, 1995 WL 81395 (Minn. Ct. App. 1995)        

 State v. Hegstrom, 543 N.W.2d 698 (Minn. Ct. App. 1996) 

 State v. Cammack, 1997 WL 104913 (Minn. Ct. App. 1997) 

 Jenkins v. Commissioner of Public Safety, 1997 WL 714740 (Minn. Ct. 

App. 1997) 

 State v. Bollin, 2000 WL 1146293 (Minn. Ct. App. 2000) 

 State v. Miller, 2002 WL 171933 (Minn. Ct. App. 2002) 

 Plocher v. Commissioner of Public Safety, 2006 WL 91548 (Minn. Ct. App. 

2006) 

 Lund v. Commissioner of Public Safety, 2006 WL 2053046 (Minn. Ct. App. 

2006) 

 State v. Alan, 2007 WL 1248038 (Minn. Ct. App. 2007) 

 State v. Huffman, 2007 WL 1412844 (Minn. Ct. App. 2007) 

 State v. Suber, 2008 WL 942622 (Minn. Ct. App. 2008)  
 



MN Drug-Impaired Driving Cases 
(cont.) 

 State v. Urban, 2009 WL 2151130 (Minn. Ct. App. 2009) 

 State v. Selle, 2011 WL 5829348 (Minn. Ct. App. 2011) 

 Peppin v. Commissioner of Public Safety, 2012 WL 5990267 (Minn. Ct. 

App. 2012) 

 State v. Taylor, 2014 WL 621322 (Minn. Ct. App. 2014) 

 State v. Sam, 2014 WL 996492 (Minn. Ct. App. 2014) 

 State v. Scheffler, 2014 WL 4957113 (Minn. Ct. App. 2014) 

 O’Connell v. State, 858 N.W.2d 161 (Minn. Ct. App. 2015) 

 Dornbusch v. Commissioner of Public Safety, 860 N.W.2d 381 (Minn. Ct. 

App. 2015) 

 State v. Bachman, 2016 WL 1551660 (Minn. Ct. App. 2016) 

 State v. Goblish, 2016 WL 2615749 (Minn. Ct. App. 2016) 

 State v. Schlingmann, 2016 WL 3461854 (Minn. Ct. App. 2016) 

 State v. Fawcett, 884 N.W.2d 380 (Minn. 2016) 

 State v. Carson, 884 N.W.2d 917 (Minn. Ct. App. 2016) 

 



Questions?  
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