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1. For the first 6 months of licensure, teen drivers are allowed only
passenger(s) under age 20 who are not members of the driver’s immediate

family, unless they are accompanied by a parent or guardian.
0 1 2 3 4 No Limit

2. Forthe second 6 months of licensure, teen drivers are allowed only
passenger(s) under age 20 who are not members of the driver’s immediate
family, unless they are accompanied by a parent or guardian.

0 1 2 3 4 No Limit

3. In Minnesota, traffic crashes are the leading cause of teen deaths.
TRUE FALSE
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4. During the first 6 months of licensure, teen drivers are prohibited from
driving between (time) and (time), unless they are
accompanied by someone 25 or older.

9p.m.&5am. 11 p.m. & 6 a.m. Midnight & 5 a.m.

5. It's illegal for a 16-year-old licensed teen driver to use a cell phone while
driving.

True False

6. To take the Provisional Driver’s License Test, teens must submit a driving log
signed by a parent/guardian that shows a minimum of hours of
supervised driving experience.

Not Required 15 30 40 50
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7. A person’s greatest chance of being in a fatal crash occurs

a.) during the first 6 to 12 months after receiving a license as a teenager.
b.) when ateen is issued an instruction permit and learning how to drive.
c.) after reaching the legal drinking age of 21.

8. Minnesota Law requires:

a.) Driver education providers to provide a parent awareness class to any
parent/guardian who chooses to receive it.

b.) A parent/guardian to attend a parent awareness class for their teen to
be eligible to obtain a provisional driver’s license.

Answers will appear in RED throughout the presentation.
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Traffic-related teen deaths have decreased in the past decade

16 & 17 Year Old Teens Killed
2005: 30
2014: 12
2015: 8

Presently, the second leading killer of 16 and 17 year olds

(3)
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Minnesota’s Teen Deaths

As of 11/8/16:
~ Age Driver Passenger Pedestrian TOTAL
16 4 2 1 /
17 0 0] 1 1
TOTAL 4 2 2 8

Source: DPS/OTS



TOWARD

X ZERo
DEATHS

Teen Driving Risks
Inexperience

Risk Taking

Speeding

Low Belt Use

Distractions;  Phone, Texting, Web, Teen Passengers, etc.
Nighttime

Drowsy

Impaired

85% of teen deaths and nearly 60% of teen injuries
occur in Greater Minnesota.
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The greatest risk of being in a fatal crash

IS during the first year of licensure.
Source: CDC (7)
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Young passengers increase fatal crash risks:

* 44% with one passenger under 21
11 Doubles with two passengers under 21
%% 1% Quadruples when carrying three or more

Source: AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety
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For 16 & 17 year old drivers,
the risk of being killed
drops by 62%

when driving with someone age 35+,
compared to driving without any passengers.
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Minnesota’s Driver’s Licensing History

1934
For $8.25 each member of a household

can be 1ssued a driver’s license
Any Age  No 1est
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1945

New drivers must pass a driving test
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1963

Minimum age to obtain a license raised to 10
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1967

Driver education required

for persons under age 18
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1987

Applicants required to wear seat belts
during driving test
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Minnesota’s GDL Laws

Provides new drivers (under age 18)
with supervised experience
to learn safe driving skills - over time —
In lower-risk environments.

Three Stages:

Learner’s Permit Age 15

Provisional License  Age 16

Full License Age 18
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1999

To obtain a provisional license, persons under 18:

« Must hold an instruction permit for at least six-months with no
moving or alcohol/substance violations.

« Must obtain at least 30 hours of supervised experience, of
which at least 10 must be at night.

2006

Permit holders and Provisional licensees cannot use a cell phone
while the vehicle is in motion.
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2008
Provisional Licensees:

For the first six-months of licensure;

 No more than 1 passenger under the age of 20,
unless accompanied by a parent/guardian. (1)
(family exempt)

« Can’t drive between Midnight & 5a.m. (4)
unless accompanied by a licensed driver 25 or older.
(work, school exceptions)
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2008

Provisional Licensees:
For the subsequent six-months of licensure;

 No more than 3 passengers under 20,
unless accompanied by a parent/guardian. (2)

(family exempt)
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Parents are the primary enforcers
of GDL Laws

They need to know:
* Teen Driving Risks
* Teen Driving Laws

* What to do;
v Importance of their role

LL e - ‘

v'How to manage their teen drivers
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“When 1t comes to driving,

parents need to place safety as a
priority over convenience!”

“Remember to be a parent,

...... because your teen
already has a lot of friends!”
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2015

Increased hours of supervised practice before licensure.

At least 50 hours, of which at least 15 must be at night.
(6)

Driving log, signed by parent, required to take driving test.

Date Day Night Total Skills Practiced
Minutes Minutes Minutes
Jan. 20 120 30 150 Gravel roads in the country
Feb. 2 60 15 75 Two-lane paved highway, snow
March 10 30 15 45 Freeways & merging

TOTALS: Day: 210 Night:60 270 Total Driving Hours: 4.5

| hereby affirm that | am the parent/guardian who has supervised my teen driver for the
majority of the required driving hours, and that my teen has driven the hours listed above.

Signature of Parent/Guardian Date
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2015

Driver Education Providers must offer a
“Supplemental Parental Curriculum”
to any parent/guardian who chooses to receive it.
(8“a”)
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POINT OF
IMPACT

Teen Driver Safety Parent Awareness Classes

* 1.5 hr. class for parents and their soon-to-be teen drivers

 Driver Educators and Law Enforcement

v Power-point
v Video

vV Q& A

v" Handouts
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POINTOF  pijof
IMPACT  Project

Evaluation: Parental pre- and post-class quiz

Pre-Class Post-Class Difference
Passenger Restriction (first 6 months): 63% 87% +24%
Nighttime Restriction (first 6 months): 43% 86% +43%
Passenger Restriction (second 6 months): 23% 79.5% +56.5%
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GDL
EDUCTION / AWARENESS
RESOURCES

Teen Safe Driving:

f
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“ A Peer Education Program

Vo find a parEntlass

(%)
A Road Map for Parents
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Minnesota Safety Councill
TEENS REACHING TWEENS & TEEN PEER EDUCATION

Teen Safe Driving:
A Peer Education Program

f ]

B4 U DRIVE

»
<Y
‘v \“:‘
Keys to Safer Teen Driving
Connecting Teens, Tweens, Parents and the Community

Teens Reaching Tweens
Leader’s Guide

https://www.minnesotasafetycouncil.org/traffic/KeystoSaferTeenDriving.cfm
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RESOURCES FOR LAW ENFORCEMENT

12 min. Webinar:

Reducing Teen Crashes, Injuries and Deaths,
ENFORCING MINNESOTA'S GRADUATED DRIVER’S LICENSE LAWS

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=st9B9kp50ro&feature=youtu.be


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=st9B9kp50ro&feature=youtu.be

ots.dps.mn.gov



Charge/Statute

Nighttime Driving
171.055 Subd. 2(b)

Teen Passengers
171.055 Subd. 2(c)

Teen Passengers
171.055 Subd. 2(c)

Cell Phone Use
171.055 Subd. 2(a)

Restricted Farm
Work License
171.041

Provisional Drivers — Under Age 18

Summary

During the first six months of licensure — Driving
prohibited midnight — 5 a.m.

During the first six months of licensure — Only one
passenger under age 20 permitted.

During the second six months of licensure — No more
than three passengers under age 20 permitted.

No cell phone use (hand-held or hands-free) when the
vehicle is in motion.

Eligible at age 15.

Used solely to assist parents or guardians with farm
work only during daylight hours and within 20 miles of
the farmhouse. May not drive to/from school or in a city
with a population more than 100,000.

Exemptions

(1) When accompanied by a licensed driver
age 25 or older.

(2) Between home and place of employment.

(3) To/from home and school event for which
the school has not provided transportation.

(4) For employment purposes.

(1) Accompanied by parent or guardian.
(2) Members of the driver's immediate family.

(1) Accompanied by parent or guardian.
(2) Members of the driver's immediate family.

(1) To obtain emergency assistance.
(2) To prevent a crime about to be committed.

(3) Reasonable belief that a person’s life or
safety is in danger.
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RESOURCES FOR EVERYONE

Theselaws help to mnimizensks of inury

or deth ! /

A Road Ma';.)-.lor Parents

ots.dps.mn.gov



TOWARD

X ZERO
DEATHS

QUIZ RESULTS:

Understanding Minnesota’s GDL Laws
----- and is it Working?
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1. One teen passenger allowed first-6 months

2. Three teen passengers allowed next-6 months

. False, traffic crashes = second leading cause of death

. First-6 months, can’t drive (unsupervised) Midnight - 5 a.m.

oo ~ O

. True, 16 year old can’t use phone while driving

o))

.50 hours must be logged to take driving test...... *(40)

7. a. Greatest risk of fatal crash during first year of licensure

8. d. D.E. must offer class, parents not required to attend.
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IS the only
acceptable goal
when it comes to
teen crashes
and the resulting
Injuries and
fatalities.




